Uncategorized

Goodbye Sam

 

Every morning when I get up Sam is curling himself around my feet. I can barely make it to the bathroom because he’s right under me the whole time I’m trying to walk. However, Saturday morning I woke up and didn’t see his little feet standing at the bedroom door. I opened the door and he didn’t come running down the hall. I went in the kitchen and found him laying in his corner under the table. He looked so peaceful. He had passed away sometime in the middle of the night in his sleep.

Sam was about 13 years old and over the past year had developed hyperthyroidism. He kept losing weight, yet he acted as though he was starving all the time. Sometimes he would even fight you to get to your plate of food! He was on medicine, but it was very difficult getting the dose right. The last week before he passed he was throwing up a lot and the day before he was barely eating. I didn’t even have time to get him to the vet.

It’s so difficult losing a pet. Especially one that has been with you for 13 years! They become part of your family. You learn their personality and even start to understand their different meows. They are a part of you. And when they are gone there’s a huge hole left.

I’ve never cried over an animal as much as I have over Sam. I have been so heartbroken. Saturday was a very difficult day for our whole family. My daughter drew a picture for Sam on the computer and her friends drew pictures for her and sent them to her.

 

 

 

download_20180929_113459

 

We buried Sam in the backyard, near his corner in the kitchen. I hope to plant some flowers for him and put up a little stone with his name on it.

He was the best cat I’ve ever had. He never scratched the furniture. Never jumped on the kitchen counters. Never scratched the walls. He was so affectionate and loving. Every night since he was a kitten he would lay on my chest at bedtime and before he got sick he was almost 20 pounds!

Waking up Sunday morning was still hard. I was still looking for him to come running down the hall to greet me when I opened the bedroom door. I had to get out of the house, so I decided to go to the park for a long walk. It helped, but coming home again to no Sam hurt all over again.

I will miss him so very, very much.

 

 

 

 

il_340x270.1288101856_lfe7

38 thoughts on “Goodbye Sam”

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s so hard to say goodbye to one of our furbabies. What a beautiful tribute to Sam here. He had a good and happy life. ❤️🐱😢

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of Sam. I know what it’s like to lose a furry member of the family; it’s so heartbreaking. Our last pooch was 13 as well when she passed last year. Sending much love to you and your family!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing a pet for me is the equivalent of losing a person. I know this sounds cliche but it will get easier. You had 13 good years with Sam and filled with great memories you can cherish xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss Michelle 😥 Being owned by cats myself, I know the joys and sorrows being around our furry babies and friends and it’s incredible hard to say goodbye to your best friend/baby. I’ve lost many over the years but it doesn’t make it easier. Sam has now crossed the rainbow bridge and is enjoying a never ending feast of mice on the eternal hunting fields. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. So sorry about your little kitty Sam. My black cat, Nicodemus is sitting in the window as I write. She is a fireball, but I love her dearly. I am Jeanne from A Jeanne in the Kitchen. If you like food and fun food facts, stop by and say “hi”. You can find me at ajeanneinthekitchen.com,

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Pingback: Christmas 2018

Leave a comment